top of page

Musicians playing on "Sweeter Than Wine"


From the left: Andy Leftwich (mandolin and fiddle), Kenny Malone (percussion), Rune Hauge (Guitars and vocal), Mark Fain (Bass), Bil VornDick (engineer, mix), Rob Ickes (dobro), Kjersti Misje (guitar, vocals), Jeff Taylor (Accordion)


Four-time Grammy winning instrumentalist Andy Leftwich began playing the fiddle at the age of six, entering his first contest at seven, and winning the National Championship for Beginners at the age of twelve. Adding mandolin and guitar to his arsenal, Andy began playing professionally at the age of fifteen. Since joining Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder in 2001, Andy has completed a solo album (“Ride”, Skaggs Family Records)

Kenny Malone

“Kenny Malone stands among the all-time greats. He revolutionized hand-drumming and was the heartbeat of classic albums by Don Williams, Nanci Griffith, John Prine, John Hartford, and many more. People who worked with him noted he was the first percussionist they knew of who asked for lyric sheets in the studio, because he felt he wouldn’t know what to play unless he knew what a song was about.

Mark Fain

Born in Rogersville, Tennessee. With the help of his uncles, he learned to play Bass, Drums and Guitar. His early career was set in gospel music and in groups such as The Singing Americans, The Neelons and Gold City Gospel. He joined the Kentucky Thunder in 1995.


A Northern California native, Rob Ickes moved to Nashville in 1992. Two of the first recordings he played on after moving to Nashville both won Grammy awards in 1994- “The Great Dobro Sessions,” an all-star Dobro gathering produced by Jerry Douglas and Tut Taylor, and “I Know Who Holds Tomorrow” by Alison Krauss and the Cox Family. Also in 1994, Rob became a founding member of the Bluegrass supergroup, “Blue Highway.” Rob toured and recorded many highly acclaimed and Grammy nominated records.

Jeff Taylor

Jeff Taylor is a veteran Nashville session player known for his skills on the piano, accordion, mandolin, penny whistle and numerous other instruments. He has played alongside Amy Grant, Vince Gill, Buddy Greene and many other artists and Inspiration clients.

Anders Bitustøyl

Anders Bitustøyl er en allsidig norsk musiker og bassist. Bitustøyl fikk Vossajazz-prisen i 2019. Han har spilt sammen med en rekke artister, blant annet Sigrid Moldestad, Transjoik, Bjørn Tomren, Karin Park, Øyvind Skarbø, Stein Urheim, Ylvis, Mads Berven, Mari Boine, Pedro Carmona-Alvarez, og sist men ikke minst i Frode Grytten Beat Band.

Musicians playing on "Broke in Brooklyn" and "Time to Turn the Tide"

bottom of page